Where do you file for divorce if you have moved from the state you were married in?
02/01/2007 - Divorce - State: AR #1193
If you were married and lived in Louisiana but now reside in Arkansas after a long separation, can you file in either state or do you have to file ( divorce) in the same state you were married.
Louisiana law requires that the one or both of the parties must have been a resident of the State. For purposes of divorce proceedings, if a spouse has established and maintained a residence in a parish of the State of Louisiana for a period of six months, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that he has a domicile in this state in the parish of such residence. La. CCP Art. 10
A spouse must be a resident of the state of Arkansas for at least 60 days prior to filing for the divorce and the divorce will not be finalized until a 3 months waiting period has passed after the initial filing.
Please see the information at the following links: Please see the forms at the following links:
02/01/2007 - Category: Divorce - State: AR #1193
See more Questions in the Divorce Category