What is the penalty for disorderly conduct in Kansas?

Full Question:

I am possibly going to be charged with disorderly conduct for a verbal altercation. Can you tell me the penalty for this offense?
07/10/2007   |   Category: Criminal   |   State: Kansas   |   #7073

Answer:

The following are KS statutes:

21-4101. Disorderly conduct.

Disorderly conduct is, with knowledge or probable cause to believe that
such acts will alarm, anger or disturb others or provoke an assault or
other breach of the peace:

(a) Engaging in brawling or fighting; or

(b) Disturbing an assembly, meeting, or procession, not unlawful in its
character; or

(c) Using offensive, obscene, or abusive language or engaging in noisy
conduct tending reasonably to arouse alarm, anger or resentment in others.

Disorderly conduct is a class C misdemeanor.

21-4502. Classification of misdemeanors and terms of confinement; possible
disposition.

(1) For the purpose of sentencing, the following classes of misdemeanors
and the punishment and the terms of confinement authorized for each class
are established:

(a) Class A, the sentence for which shall be a definite term of
confinement in the county jail which shall be fixed by the court and shall
not exceed one year.

(b) Class B, the sentence for which shall be a definite term of
confinement in the county jail which shall be fixed by the court and shall
not exceed six months.

(c) Class C, the sentence for which shall be a definite term of
confinement in the county jail which shall be fixed by the court and shall
not exceed one month.

(d) Unclassified misdemeanors, which shall include all crimes declared to
be misdemeanors without specification as to class, the sentence for which
shall be in accordance with the sentence specified in the statute that
defines the crime; if no penalty is provided in such law, the sentence
shall be the same penalty as provided herein for a class C misdemeanor.

(2) Upon conviction of a misdemeanor, a person may be punished by a fine,
as provided in K.S.A. 21-4503 and amendments thereto, instead of or in
addition to confinement, as provided in this section.

(3) In addition to or in lieu of any other sentence authorized by law,
whenever there is evidence that the act constituting the misdemeanor was
substantially related to the possession, use or ingestion of cereal malt
beverage or alcoholic liquor by such person, the court may order such
person to attend and satisfactorily complete an alcohol or drug education
or training program certified by the chief judge of the judicial district
or licensed by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services.

(4) Except as provided in subsection (5), in addition to or in lieu of
any other sentence authorized by law, whenever a person is convicted of
having committed, while under 21 years of age, a misdemeanor under the
uniform controlled substances act (K.S.A. 65-4101 et seq. and amendments
thereto), K.S.A. 41-719, 41-727, 65-4152, 65-4153, 65-4154 or 65-4155 or
8-1599, and amendments thereto, the court shall order such person to submit
to and complete an alcohol and drug evaluation by a community-based alcohol
and drug safety action program certified pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1008 and
amendments thereto and to pay a fee not to exceed the fee established by
that statute for such evaluation. If the court finds that the person is
indigent, the fee may be waived.

(5) If the person is 18 or more years of age but less than 21 years of
age and is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 41-727, and amendments
thereto, involving cereal malt beverage, the provisions of subsection (4)
are permissive and not mandatory.

History: L. 1969, ch. 180, § 21-4502; L. 1977, ch. 117, § 2; L. 1979,
ch. 90, § 4; L. 1989, ch. 95, § 4; L. 1996, ch. 211, § 5; L. 1999, ch. 57,
§ 28; July 1.

Ask Legal Question

Your Privacy is 100% Confidential!