In Illinois how long doe sthe landlord have to return deposit at the end of a lease?

Full Question:

In Illinois, when a tenant moves out, how many days do I have to inspect the apartment for damages before I have to return the security deposit?
02/13/2007   |   Category: Landlord Tenant   |   State: Alabama   |   #680


The landlord shall, within 45 days after the date that the tenant vacates the dwelling unit, return to the tenant the security deposit or any balance thereof and the required interest thereon provided, however, that the landlord may deduct from such security deposit or interest due thereon for the following:

1. Any unpaid rent which has not been validly withheld or deducted pursuant to state or federal law or local ordinance; and

2. A reasonable amount necessary to repair any damage caused to the premises by the tenant or any person under the tenant's control or on the premises with the tenant's consent, reasonable wear and tear excluded.; In case of such damage, the landlord shall deliver or mail to the last known address of the tenant within 30 days an itemized statement of the damages allegedly caused to the premises and the estimated or actual cost for repairing or replacing each item on that statement, attaching copies of the paid receipts for the repair or replacement. If estimated cost is given, the landlord shall furnish the tenant with copies of paid receipts or a certification of actual costs of repairs of damage if the work was performed by the landlord's employees within 30 days from the date of the statement showing estimated cost was furnished to the tenant.

Ask Legal Question

Your Privacy is 100% Confidential!